The Mahaffy’s Memorial Debating Competition…

The annual JP Mahaffy Memorial Debating Competition, a one-day contest for novice speakers, took place on February the 18th. Eight of the top fresher teams in Trinity College competed for the prestigious trophy, with rounds taking place during the day before a grand final in the Chamber. In the final, the teams of Eoin O’Liathain and Alannah nic Phaidin, Ciaran Parkin and Chris Benedik, Shauna Maguire and Sam Mealy, and Anthony McDonald and Kate Oliver, faced off on the motion “TTH would punish people who transmitted HIV”, with Shauna and Sam eventually emerging victorious, and Ciaran being named as Best Speaker in the Final.

Congratulations to the winners, and to all the participants!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: