Archive for the ‘The Trinity Intervarsity’ Category

The Trinity IV 2009…

January 24, 2009


The 2009 Claire Stewart Trinity IV took place on the 23rd and 24th of January. The convenors of the competition were the Phil’s Debate Convenor, Mr Jonathan Wyse and the Hist’s Debate Convenor, Mr Niall Sherry. The competition was CAd by Mr Luke Ryder (twice runner-up of the Irish Mace, Finalist at the 2008 Cork IV and runner up of the Irish Times and ex-Registrar of The Phil) and Mr Ross McGuire (winner of the Irish Mace, Worlds Masters winner and euros semi-finalist). Friends and competitors piled into the GMB for two days of intest oratory and intense celebrations.

The motion “This house would adopt constitutional dictatorship over democracy”, and the four teams who competed in the final were:

Opening Government: NUI Galway Literary and Debating Society

Sean Butler and Conor Kelly

Opening Opposition: Macquarie University 

Felicity Wilson and Tom Hoskins

Closing Government: UCD Literary and Historical Society

Ian Hastings and Conor McAndrew

Closing Opposition: UCD Literary and Historical Society 

Julia Lawlor and Rebecca McGrath

The final was won by Closing Opposition, Julia Lawlor and Rebecca McGrath of the UCD Literary and Historical Society. The best speaker in the final was Tom Hoskins of Macquarie University.

The team and speaker tabs for the Dean Swift IV are attached. Individuals who desire the tab in different format should contact either of the convenors. Will Jones of the Oxford Union was awarded best speaker on the traditional speaker tab. Hugh Burns of the Irish Worlds Schools Team was awarded best speaker on the adjusted speaker tab, in which speaker points for each round were reduced in accordance with the number of years experience debating enjoyed by that speaker.